Ophidian 2350 Errata & FAQ

Ophidian 2350 Errata and Clarifications
Changes are listed in underlined bold text and strikeout text. New (8/1/2016) Changes are in BLUE.
Download Compatibility Rules (rules for using 2350 and 2360 cards together)
Rulebook Errata
From 3.11 How to Gain Crowd Favor

When a Gladiator you control Attacks an Unset Character a character, a Cheer will be generated. If your an opponent Intercepts the Attack, they gain the 1 Cheer Counter. Otherwise, you will gain the Cheer. If the target of the Attack becomes Set after the Attack is declared, the Cheer will still be generated as normal.

From 3.12 Reinforcements

In the carnage that unfolds in the Ophidian Arenas, Gladiators will be lost. The Ophidian rules allow a team to contain one up to three reinforcement cards to replace a fallen Gladiators.
Reinforcement Gladiators have a Maintenance Cost that MUST be paid.

From 3.6 Attacks

Defend (Defense and Rage Damage): After ADMG is dealt, some abilities allow the Defender to deal Defense Damage (DDMG) back to the Attacker. If a Gladiator is Raging they may be able to deal Rage Damage (RDMG) or Unset as well (see Rage).
The Defender cannot deal Defense Damage or  use Rage effects if they Intercepted or Protected the Attack.

From 4.2 Victory Conditions

Annihilation Victory: After any player successfully eliminates all Enemy Gladiators, they win the game immediately.
Point Victory: At the end of the fourth Wave, both players add up all the victory points (VP) they have scored. The player with the most VP wins the game. If there is a tie after the fourth Wave, an elimination Wave is played. Elimination Waves are played until a victor is declared.
After a player reaches 12 VP, they win the game immediately.
A player scores VP in the following way:
For each enemy Gladiator a player has destroyed, they score an amount of VP equal to the VP of the destroyed Gladiator. If a player scraps a Gladiator, their opponent gains VP equal to the VP of the scrapped Gladiator. Card effects may also cause players to gain or lose VP.

Crowd Riot Victory: After any player is able to reach a cheer Level of 15 or more, they win the game immediately.

From 7.0 Multi-Player

Multi-player is extremely easy and fun to play. The rules go as follows:
1) Negative () actions go to the player on the left. (Just like regular play)
2) You can only attack the player to your immediate left or right.
Note: When determining Flow and the Crowd Favorite all players are counted.
3) Keep Gladiators in your Funeral Pyre separate so you know which player Defeated which Gladiator and has earned the VP.
4) If a Gladiator dies due to your own actions, the card goes into a pool. The first other player to Destroy another Gladiator you control counts as if they Destroyed the Gladiators in your pool. If you are eliminated from the game and Gladiators are still in your pool, the next player to your left or right that Destroys a Gladiator counts as if they Destroyed the Gladiators in your pool.

From 8.0 Advanced Rules

Temporary Flow (After a Wave Ends Effects): If more than one player has after a wave ends effects, first determine Flow for the next wave, then follow normal rules for resolving multiple responses to the same event.
Example: Two players have “After a Wave ends” responses. After determining flow, the player with Flow resolves one of his responses, then the player to his left and so on.

Paying Life: You cannot pay costs that you do not have. This includes paying Life. When a cost requires a character to pay Life, they can only pay up to that character’s remaining life. When you pay life, place a number of Wounds on that character equal to the life paid. If paying life kills a gladiator it is considered scrapping that gladiator, not destroying.
Example: A Gladiator has 1 life left and an ability that allows them to pay X life to draw X cards. They may only pay 1 life, since that is the amount of life remaining on that Gladiator.

Destroy and scrap effects: Cards that are scrapped or destroyed may perform as if they were in play until the end of the event chain in which they were scrapped or destroyed. They are also considered in the scrapheap/funeral pyre.
Example: A gladiator takes ADMG that destroys them. That Gladiator can still deal defense and rage damage and use of their abilities and pumps. Once the attack ends, the gladiator can no longer make any actions.

Unique Keyword – This rule now follows the Ophidian 2360 Rules, and is universal for the table.  Quick-Hit cards with the Unique Keyword are treated as though they do not have that Keyword.  One of these cards (Alter Ego) has received errata below, and one (Calm Hovering) has been reprinted in the 2360 format.  The other two cards (Transmogrification and Supported) can be played normally.

“Level or lower” – When playing with Ophidian 2360 cards, this phrase refers to the highest Level requirement of the card, and if a Discipline is specified, the highest Level requirement of that Discipline.

Card Errata
Alter Ego

Target Gladiator takes XDMG equal to their
current ADMG value, unless their controller
sets them (This may only be played once
per Wave)

Poc Shot

OR Outbreak While unset, When a
Character takes bio-decay DMG, 2CP:
+1 BIO-DECAY DMG

Inner Demons

After Pumped Character deals X ADMG:
They take X XDMG unless their controller
scraps 2 cards at random from hand

Lothar
Lothar cannot be have (BioGen) requiring
his Level or lower played on him.
Portal Transport

Advance or retreat a Character you
Control (Using PORTAL TRANSPORT does
not count as advancing or retreating for
responses)

Kaleem’s Momentum

Previously released errata has been removed as unnecessary.

Shendondrian Dominatrix

R After a Character sets, set:
Target that Character
R While set, After that Character
takes ADMG: That Character cannot
unset or deal RDMG

Ophidian 2350 FAQ

Here are some Frequently Asked Questions. If a question you have is not answered, try the forums.

Starting Teams

(Q) Can I start with a team worth 9 VP?
(A) No. A starting team must equal 10 VP.

(Q) Can I start with 3 gladiators? 5 Gladiators?
(A) You can start with up to four Gladiators on your team as long as they equal 10VP. This means you can have a team of 3, but you can’t have a team of 5 or higher.

(Q) Do Reinforcements count toward the VP or Gladiator limit?
(A) No. Cards in your Gladiator stack including Reinforcements and higher level Gladiators do not effect your VP or Gladiator totals.

Damage Questions

(Q) Does XDMG cause a character to use raging effects? Can XDMG be Intercepted or Protected?
(A) No and no. XDMG (Direct Damage) does not count as an attack and cannot trigger any effects that happen as the result of an attack.

(Q) If a card simply says “OR: +1 ADMG” or “DR: 1 DDMG“. What is the timing?
(A) ADMG, RDMG, and DDMG all have timing built in to their definitions. ADMG is damage dealt by the attacker to the defender during an attack. RDMG is damage dealt by a raging defender to the attacker during an attack. DDMG is damage dealt by the defender to the attacker during an attack. They can only be triggered during an attack and only by the appropriate character.
Example: Lothar attacks Bloaters. Bloaters may now use its ability “DR: 1 DDMG”. If Lothar had done XDMG to bloaters or would have attacked a different character, bloaters could not have used its ability.

(Q) What about similar abilities on pumps?
(A) Pumps give their abilities to the pumped card.
Example: A gladiator with a pump that says “OR: +1 ADMG”, would increase the pumped gladiators ADMG.

(Q) Can an ability effect other characters ADMG, DDMG, etc?
(A) Yes, but it would need to target them and would still follow proper timing, meaning the character you target would have to be able to use the damage type.
Example: An OR quick-hit says “Target gladiator gains +2 ADMG”. You could only play this on an attacking gladiator.

Death

(Q) When does a card get scrapped/destroyed?
(A) A card is considered scrapped/destroyed as soon the effect that scrapped/destroyed them resolves. However, the card and any pumps on that card are not considered removed from play until all effects in the effect chain resolve. This means if a character has effects that are triggered after they are scrapped/destroyed, the effect is playable, since the card is still technically in play until the action ends. This also means, characters can deal rage damage in an attack that destroys them, use abilities on their card, etc.

(Q) If a character dies from paying life, does it count as scrapping or destroying that character.
(A) Paying Life is considered scrapping, not destroying and as such does not trigger destroy effects. As a general rule, when you get rid of your own cards usually as a type of cost, it is scrapping, otherwise, as part of an effect it is considered destroying.

Win Timing

(Q) What happens if there are multiple win conditions satisfied during the same action?
(A) Wins happen first in, first out, just like all other actions except the 4th Wave win, which happens at the end of the fourth wave.  Follow the order given on the rules reference for priority.

(Q) So, if I attack and kill his last gladiator and then he deals rage damage and kills my last gladiator, who wins?
(A) You win since the attack damage happens first. Here’s how it breaks down. First, the defending gladiator is destroyed as a result of the ADMG. Next, since you have flow, your win condition, which is triggered after your opponent’s last gladiator is destroyed, takes place. Only then would your opponents gladiator’s RDMG and/or DDMG take effect., however it’s already too late.

(Q) Ok, but what if I play a card that kills both our teams giving us both an annihilation win?
(A) Well, both of you would have continuous responses to the effect that allow the win, however, since you have Flow, your continuous response happens first and you would win the game.

Hand Size

(Q) Does max hand size limit the number of cards I can hold during a wave?
(A) No. If you find ways to draw cards during a wave that go above you max hand size, you can keep them in your hand, however, during regeneration in the breather you will have to go back down to your max hand size.

(Q)A card increases my maximum hand size by 1. Does that mean I can immediately draw another card?
(A) No. Hand size will limit the number of cards drawn during regeneration in the breather and that may remain in your at the end of regeneration.

(Q) My max hand size is eight. Can I still draw two bonus cards?
(A) Yes. You will still draw two bonus cards. Bonus cards are in addition to your max hand size.

(Q) I have a card that lets me draw three bonus cards instead of two. Do I place 3 cards back at the bottom of my arsenal or two?
(A) You place three at the bottom. You must go back to your maximum hand size, which you would now be over by three instead of two.

(Q) I have 10 cards at the start of regeneration and my hand size is seven. If I keep all my cards, can I draw bonus cards?
(A) No. The rule says draw up to your max hand size plus two bonus cards. Substitute your current max hand size and bonus card amount and it reads: Draw up to 9 cards. Since you already exceed nine, you cannot draw any more. If you want to draw new cards, simply discard any number of cards at the start of regeneration.

Crowd Favor

(Q) If cheer is tied who has the crowd favor?
(A) No one does. When the highest cheer is tied, the crowd is undecided.

Rage

(Q) If an attack makes you rage, can you use rage effects during that attack?
(A) No. Only after the action ends that made you rage, can you start using rage effects.

Cheer

(Q) My opponent just used a Cheer to make a positive action into a negative action (Roaring). Can I use a Cheer to make that negative action back into a positive action?
(A) No.  Cheer can only be spent to “Roar” converting your opponent’s positive action into a negative action.

(Q) When can I spend Cheer to make a positive action into a negative action?
(A) You can spend cheer any time during an action up until when Flow/Momentum is resolved and the next action is declared. (Players may ask for a pause before the next action is declared)

(Q) Do you need Crowd Favor to use Cheer to turn a (+) action into a () action?
(A) No, you don’t need to be the Crowd Favorite.

Card-Specific Questions

(Q) When I play Palm Ripples on an unset Character, does it also set the Character?
(A) No.  The only time a Character sets when it Retreats is when it takes the Retreat action.  If the Retreat action is the result of another card, they simply move.   (this is similar to how a Raging Gladiator cannot Retreat, but an action can make that Gladiator Retreat)

(Q) Can my opponent(s) take advantage of the Play Cost discount that Summoning Locus provides?
(A) Yes!  This is a Zone, and it affects all players.  If it only affected your cards, the game text would state that.

Gamers! Join us!

Our Community is the place to find players and more!

Explore our forums, and find new players, get rules questions answered, and more!

Enter the Arena!

Learn to play Ophidian 2360, and crush your opponents!

Also available on Amazon.com with free Prime shipping, while supplies last!

Get Started Now